Go to AfricaBib home

Go to AfricaBib home AfricaBib Go to database home

bibliographic database
Previous page New search

The free AfricaBib App for Android is available here

Periodical article Periodical article Leiden University catalogue Leiden University catalogue WorldCat catalogue WorldCat
Title:Local government transition in five eastern seaboard South African towns
Authors:Bekker, SimonISNI
Buthelezi, SiphoISNI
Manona, CecilISNI
Periodical:Politikon: South African Journal of Political Studies
Geographic term:South Africa
Subject:local government reform
External link:https://www.tandfonline.com/doi/abs/10.1080/02589349708705040
Abstract:The April 1994 general elections in South Africa resulted in the establishment of a new national government and nine new provincial governments. The establishment of a new system of local government restructuring was postponed until after the general elections. This article is concerned with the first phase of local government restructuring, the pre-interim (Constitution) phase, which began with the promulgation of the Local Government Transition Act (1993) and resulted in the establishment of a transitional local government body. It then examines the establishment of transitional local authorities in five small towns: Fort Beaufort, Grahamstown and Peddie in the Eastern Cape, Somerset West in the Western Cape, and Howick in KwaZulu-Natal. In particular, it addresses the following issues: membership of the Transitional Local Council and of the preceding local government negotiating forum; the demarcation of transitional local authorities' areas of jurisdiction; provincial and metropolitan intervention in the local decisionmaking processes; and the degree to which local democratic practice began to emerge in the five towns before local government elections took place. Bibliogr., notes, ref., sum.